DEV Community

Cover image for Hosting platform procrastination πŸ˜΅β€πŸ’«
Prakirth Govardhanam
Prakirth Govardhanam

Posted on

Hosting platform procrastination πŸ˜΅β€πŸ’«

Background

I am trying to learn MERN stack in 150 Days, about which I posted a while ago. In this series posts, I will be sharing What and How I have been learning.


Did you ever have to deal with yourself in a similar situation as this ? How did you deal with it ? Let me know in the comments πŸ’¬

This is how I dealt with it. πŸ€Ήβ€β™‚οΈ

Context

DAY 9/150

Reason

I always dreaded deployment. Last I tried I failed.
Then, I mastered procrastinating this particular aspect of Software Development 😐

Obviously, the procrastination comes from my insecurities as a non-traditional Developer, such as :

  • What if I do something wrong and my code gets deleted ?! 🀨
  • TMI! Where do I even start ?! 😬

Solution

  • It took me a whole day to reason with myself and find options which satisfy one simple condition - No Credit Card required
  • The answer was right in that part of the course - Render

Learnings

  • Procrastination or Impostor Syndrome is quite common for folks coming from non-traditional backgrounds to Software Development
  • Deal WITH it. Do NOT give in. 🦾
  • Sometimes the solution is right in front of You. Just breathe 😌
  • Along the way, I found some nice aggregated resources 🀩 :
  1. List of services for Web Hosting, Database, File Storage, User Identity and Monitoring

  2. List of softwares with free-tiers for Developers

    Free for Developers

    Developers and Open Source authors now have a massive amount of services offering free tiers, but it can be hard to find them all to make informed decisions.

    favicon free-for.dev

Until next time! ✍️
Live Long and Prosper πŸ––


Cover Photo by 'Leeloo The First' from Pexels

Top comments (0)