DEV Community

pravinpreneur
pravinpreneur

Posted on

How to Modernize Java Development Environment using VS Code and WSL2 to Improve Productivity

Since 2007, I’ve been writing Java code in Eclipse. Eclipse is a pretty solid IDE for Java based development and I enjoy writing backend code in eclipse a lot. But now in modern development world we need to use several plugins to write code efficiently and it’s not limited to backend side code. We need to write code in frontend technologies too. I started feeling urge to switch from eclipse as two things really annoyed me. Slowness and frontend(Angular, React, Vue and many more) development support. Whenever I start eclipse it takes around 30 seconds to load workspace, another 30 seconds to load plugins, doing indexing and it blocks me from writing code. But frontend development support and speed isn’t everything. I've written full article about this on medium, use below link to read full article: [https://medium.com/@pravinpreneur/how-to-modernize-java-development-environment-using-vs-code-and-wsl2-to-improve-productivity-1c9681390170]

Top comments (0)