DEV Community

Prayatna Bhattarai
Prayatna Bhattarai

Posted on • Updated on

TIL: How to wait after user input in Angular forms

Welcome to the very first series of Today I Learned (Also, my first post after creating a dev.to account for more than a year 😊 ). I have decided to post "Today I Learned" for 30 days to keep myself motivated and share my knowledge.

Let's get straight to the point. I was trying to extract a url from the user input and get a web preview on the fly. I could only get that once I figure out the user has stopped typing. So I wanted to add a delay just before I execute my method to extract the url from the input text.

I have my PostMessageComponent like:

@Component({
    selector: 'post-message',
    templateUrl: './post-message.component.html',   
})
export class PostMessageComponent implements OnInit, OnDestroy {
  message = new FormControl('');
  webLink: string;

  messageSubscription: Subscription;
  constructor() { }
  ngOnInit() {
    this.messageSubscription = 
        this.message.valueChanges.pipe(
      debounceTime(2000),
      distinctUntilChanged()
          ).subscribe(newMessage => {
        this.webLink = 
                    this.getUrlFromString(newMessage);
      });
    }

  ngOnDestroy(): void {
    this.messageSubscription.unsubscribe();
  }
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I created a message FormControl which has valuChanges as Observable. Through RxJs you can always use .pipe() function to run operators one after the other. In this case, I used the debounceTime(2000) which emits the observable after 2s has passed. After the function is executed it runs distinctUntilChanged() which basically is another function that emits all the items the source Observable will emit only if the value is different from the previous one.

This way, I can now use getUrlFromString method after waiting for 2s from the time the user finishes typing. I then use this.webLink to call an external service/api and perform other actions.

There could be a better way of solving this, but this is how I tried to solve it. Happy to get everyone's thoughts on it.

PS: If you are subscribing to something, don't forget to unsubscribe. That's why I have a messageSubscription which calls the unsubscribe() once the component is destroyed.

Top comments (0)