DEV Community

Pricope Stefan-Cristian
Pricope Stefan-Cristian

Posted on

TVBlocker

My Final Project

This is a simple Python script that can toggle firewall rules on and off on an OpenWRT based router. That's it. That's the biggest achievement I got in college. It's all downhill from here.

Demo Link

I do not have a demo link up and running because I'm afraid hackers will find a way to toggle my internet off when I'm playing WoW.

Link to Code

GitHub logo PricopeStefan / TVBlocker

Toggle rules on and off in OpenWRT using this small and simple trick

How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?)

  • Python is amazing for this kind of job.
  • Built using the salt I generated while his TV was too loud.
  • You can't parse HTML using Regex (Who would've thought)

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories

So this is a project I built during my final year of college when I moved into a new place and a roommate thought it would be a cool idea to buy a new 700$ flat TV for himself. Can't deny the fact that the TV was indeed pretty cool, it had lights in the back that adapted to the content displayed on the screen, pretty immersive experience overall.

However, that piece of scrap was also insanely loud while playing Spotify or Youtube which was weird because my roommate wasn't deaf, he just liked it that way. So being the extremely petty person that I am I decided that if he plays music while I'm trying to sleep, I'll just cut off his internet on the TV via the web interface of our router (which is basically a fancier way of saying adding 2 iptable rules).

Thus, this project was born. The End.

Top comments (0)