DEV Community

Cover image for It's all about Application !
_Pro_Dev_Code
_Pro_Dev_Code

Posted on

It's all about Application !

After my first post, "Let the Journey Begin !", I started the work on Application. Spent last weekend, thinking on what should be my next steps and it was obvious. First step was to decide the topic.

There were few topics, for which I can build an application. After giving much of thought, I chose Billing application as my First Open Source Application. It is an area in which I have an understanding and also has a complexity which I want in my first application to showcase the capabilities.

To begin with, this application will be generic (or Horizontal). Over a period this solution can be enhanced as a vertical solution for different industries.

The next step was to give a name to this baby, I mean, application. For this application, vision is to "build Alpha-Gen application which is designed ground-up using latest technologies and design patterns without any debt of legacy stack or traditional thinking". And to make it sufficiently clear, name has to reflect this vision. I have come up with two names for this application

  1. Alpha (α) Suits - This demonstrates the Generation and can be used by all the following applications
  2. Billy - This name is uses the slang for defining the Billing application.

During this week, I would like to know your feedback on what name looks better. 😃

As a next step, I also spent time on thinking about how to start the entire development. Initial thoughts were to start with Technology Stack, Database Design (Tables etc.), UI design and so on. But finally decided to start with designing with Mind Map of Features for the application.

So in the next post, I will spend time on the Feature Map of the application.

Toodles !

Image Credit: Nicepng

Top comments (0)