DEV Community

Mirko Vukušić
Mirko Vukušić

Posted on

Search and sort of articles are confusing to me

Reading dev.to for a few days now. After reading some fresh posts, often I want to check some topics of interest using a search. But my first impression is that it just doesn't feel right. Mostly its about getting old articles in results, so quickly I have nothing more to read on the topic, ot it just appears like it, or Im doing it wrong.

Here is a story of my first impressions...

Day 1)
I'm interested in "aws" topics. I know there's #aws tag for it, let me find it. Menu - tags... Oh, list is huge, lets try to search for a tag... Nope. search above searches the site, not tags.
Ok, lets go alphabetically... Nope, they're not alphabetically sorted. Well, I'm not browsing all those. Let's search for '#aws', yes! Got it. Wait ... Too many articles are 2 years old. It cannot be that. Open first article, click on #aws tag... Aha, completely different thing.

Day 2)
I've read top #aws articles, let's dig deeper. I want to see articles on AWS Sam. Hmm, can I search by tag? Let's search for: #aws sam
Good... But hey... Again top articles are 2 years old. There must be more on dev.to on Sam!? Scrolling down I realize there are newer articles deep down. Uh, don't want that. I've read all articles at the top, how am I going to continue reading tomorrow? I don't have a clue how those articles are sorted. It seems that list in search results and list created by clicking on the #tag are sorted differently, and there's no "sort by date" in any. I don't see the other way but to go through complete list every day, not to miss new ones but continuing to read beyond the point where I stopped yesterday.

There must be something about this on dev.to. Let me search for: #devto sort
Whaaat!? I get list of people in results? Confused. Maybe this is just displayed when there are no search result to display? Let me try searching for: 'gshdyejsjsieheh'...
Oh, now i get "no results match that query". So what's with that people in search results. Still confused

Day 3)
Dev.to just appears like it has less (and older) content than it really has. At least in my use scenario. I mostly use homepage and 'latest' and a few tags I subscribed to. I feel like I'm missing something.

What am I getting\doing wrong?

Top comments (0)