DEV Community

Josh Pullen
Josh Pullen

Posted on

Why do you love dev.to?

Dev is, I believe, the best online community for developers that exists today. So I want to know: What's your favorite part of the dev.to experience?

What about this website is different than Twitter, Medium, or any of the other places that developers live?

As a bonus: What would you like to see improved?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
pulljosh profile image
Josh Pullen

I'll go first: My favorite thing about Dev is that it draws the right crowd. People who are angry, bitter, or unnecessarily cynical don't tend to stick around these parts. Instead, it seems to be the hardworking, curious folks who find their way to this website. Discussions are almost always civil and productive, and the entire experience feels pure.

As for something I don't like: It seems like participation in the comments section is low. Maybe I'm just used to higher-volume communities, but it seems like the comments -- my favorite part of the dev experience -- are often quiet. But perhaps that's why this place seems so civil. ¯\(ツ)

Collapse
 
elliot profile image
Elliot • Edited

I agree with you Josh. Dev.to seems to be full of friendly and supportive people. It doesn't seem to matter whether you are a seasoned developer or an absolute beginner. Everyone is here.

What would I like to see improved?
The reason I like dev.to is a bit of a double edged sword. Maybe I have missed it, but I wish there was a way to see content that's targeted towards a bit more experienced developers.