DEV Community

Puppet Ecosystem for puppet

Posted on • Originally published at puppetlabs.github.io on

18th September 2020: IAC Team Status Update

Hello folks! Hope this Friday finds you all well? Here’s an update from the IAC Team for the week that was:

Community Contributions

We’d like to thank the following people from the Community for their contributions this week:

Thank you jcpunk and b4ldr for your contributions!

Module Releases

The following modules were released this week:

Bolt Smoke Tests

We’d like to thank the Bolt team, and specifically lucywyman for getting a smoke test pipeline up and running that verifies Bolt releases with Litmus!

Also, thanks to jpogran and nicklewis for quickly jumping on bolt#2188, discovered by daianamezdrea. Very much appreciated! :)

Puppet.Dsc PowerShell Module Published

We also released the first public version of the Puppet.Dsc PowerShell module to the PowerShell Gallery this week! This is the initial public follow up to our earlier blog post, DSC + Puppet: Incoming!, wherein we make the cleaned up and tested version of our tool for converting PowerShell modules with DSC Resources into Puppet modules!

We’ll have a new blog going more in depth on this topic in short order.

Disha’s Week 3 Update

I had a very busy and productive week 3 at Puppet. I started off my week 3 with the IDEA Working Group, where we discussed what to do with the upcoming events such as Women Who Code taking opinions of existing interns of how they applied to Puppet for their placement year and if there was anything that can be improved. On the same day, I started to work on Learn Ruby The Hard Way During the week, I continued to work on this tutorial when I was free and so far made great progress. Later on in the week, I had some very interesting and enjoyable sessions of training. I had two sessions on GitHub training which was a high-level introduction, covering things like:-

Part I:

  • What is SCM? Namespaces: puppetlabs, forks, etc
  • Cloning a repo, pulling
  • Creating a branch
  • Adding, Commit and Removing etc
  • How to create good commits (tagging with JIRA IDs, atomic commits, etc)
  • Resolving conflicts (quick overview: working on a code repo withmultiple collaborators / contributors)
  • Pushing branches

Part II:

  • Push/pull destinations (e.g. upstream, origin, forks, etc)
  • Creating a PR
  • Code review basics (+ labelling)
  • RebasingGetting out of trouble (removing commits, rewriting commits, resetting branches)
  • Force pushing and how to cautiously use it!
  • Github issues and how to link to them in commits/PRs

During this session, I worked with Ciaran and Daiana.

I have also started my training on PDKSync and Gem Testing with Sheena. Check out the blogs on PDKSync. The session will be continued on Monday to complete the remaining training. In this session, the following topics were covered:-

Part I:

  • Overview of pdksync Tool
  • How to create GITHub token and add to puppetlabs org
  • How do we clone, make changes, commit, push and create PR using pdksync.

After completing the session with Sheena, I then worked with Daniel to sort out the issue with Learning VM certificates signing and verification. I would like to say thanks to Daniel for all his help yesterday. I will continue this training once I have finished the Ruby tutorials

Finally, on Friday I attended a session with Caoimhe to give her an overview of how to use the Queen’s University Belfast Virtual Events Page for the Graduate and Placement Fair 2020 taking place virtually this October. We hope to see the QUB students at the virtual fair in this October! After the session with Caoimhe, I attended the weekly Belfast’s Wrap Up Session. I also attended a zoom call with John O’ Connor where he gave me an overview of the what the Development Infrastructure Operations is and what they do! Thanks for such an informative session John O’Connor on Grafana, ABS, Mesos and Puppet Tech Tools Registry. That’s all for this week from me! Happy reading!!

Top comments (0)