DEV Community

Ronald R
Ronald R

Posted on

I Tried..

With this lab I wanted to try to fix a table columns that is bleeding to another column. sounds easy enough. What I didn't anticipate that it was harder than it looked and was quite complicated that even the main collaborators found it to be harder than expected.Issue My goal was to dynamically get the longest name and set that as the size/width of the column

   max_width: dict[str, int | str] | str | None = None
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

was my initial plan but it did not quite work as expected because it was stll changing as the API data is being red and somewhat make it more cluttered. I was having trouble with this issue for a few days but ultimately I decided to just let another person work on it because it was really quite difficult for me to fix specially testing the data.

WHat I would have done differently

It would have been great to learn how to do unittest properly before I attemtped to do this, just because I was having trouble connecting to their servers since and load the data properly.

Someone took Over

When it was taken over by someone else the same ideaolgy that I wanted to implement was still there but I felt like it was bit of a hassle to work on this without the proper knowledge. all in all it was still very interesting even if I didn't get to merge thi on my own. I still learned a lot.

Thouht It would have been quite a work if I still proceeded and probably took a longer time if I decided to finish it, but it's fine for me atleast I tried even if I wasnt able to finish it properly.

I had to close the PR that I requested even though I didnt want to. But it did take about almost 2 weeks before this was finished all in all. So it was truly quite Hard and was not at all a "Good Issue" this word is become harder and harder to justify.

Top comments (0)