DEV Community

Raine
Raine

Posted on

sideberry; become less of a tab monster.

I am a monster.

I always have 20+ tabs open if not more.
I just need to have my research open because, you never know when it's useful.
This is monsterous.

Enter sidebery...

Look I've used tree style tab before but it's just not been what I've looked for.
But with sidebery, it's a different question.

You can customize... so... much!!!!!
Which is one of the best things extensions can offer.

I absolutely hate it when extensions get in the way of what I'm trying to do: browse.
I don't want popups, I don't want flashing icons.
I want them to enhance my experience. Dare I say, extend my browser (woah shocking, I know).

Sidebery is just exactly what I need.
You can setup sidebery to unload folders (which makes my auto discard extenstion truly obsolete) and do all sorts of small things.

Sidebery allows you to use it as a vertical tab bar, a tree style tab and it even adds support for grouping.
Beware that you need to go into the (somewhat confusing and overwhelming) settings page but that's totally worth it.

I want folded folders to be unloaded and sidebery has that option.
Want to color tabs depending on URL? sidebery can do it.
Want to group folders by a distinct group and not necessarily another tab? guess what sidebery can do it.
You can even ask sidebery to hide folded folders!!!

Those features make it such an improvement over TST.

Guess what, it's open source too!

I could talk more about sidebery but I haven't even used it for a long time, I will write more after a month or so when I've used it properly.

Also, try it; it's free.
My post serves it no justice to the list of features it adds!

https://github.com/mbnuqw/sidebery

Top comments (0)