DEV Community

Cover image for A reminder to self
Raissa K.
Raissa K.

Posted on

A reminder to self

I should have posted this earlier - it happened last week - but here goes a reminder to future self:

When you're tired and it feels like your mind is stretched too thin, just take a break and do something - whatever! - else.

A couple of weeks back I was trying to recreate a simple about page from a image that had been provided as reference.

It was all going well until I tested the fluidity of the page and although it all looked great on full screen, any changes to screen size would cause the image to flow out of the section.

I tried several tips from all over StackOverflow, but they were more directed at images inside their own containers and didn't help me much.

Almost at the point of giving up I realized a super tiny detail: I hadn't set a max width to the section.

Boom, fixed it. The image stayed put, increasing or decreasing in size with the rest of the content.

That took me too long to fix, but I'm aware this is just a small taste of things to come.

Top comments (0)