DEV Community

rawkiesthinker
rawkiesthinker

Posted on

I'm Rawk, and I support women devs.

Equality in tech looks like…

Honestly, I have the most idealistic view of life, truly believe we can live an ideal life, equality in tech is when we stop talking about equality in tech, and just see another human in tech as another human in tech, either your capable or you're unable to get the job done.

Before writing this post I wanted to confirm, just how many women in tech I knew, and after confirming how many women in tech there is, I came to realize just how many of them got things done and got it done really well to the point where I even forgot that they had to fight a whole other battle to get here.

I will advocate for equality by…

I love my ignorance, however, I have come to learn that, there is an inequality, and that every day I put my best foot forward to make sure there is equality in tech at all times if that means partnering with women to complete a project, or the most extreme example, joining women coding initiatives just so we can have a balance in the industry.

I will learn to understand that others had to work harder than others just to get to the same point, however, I will not change my behavior or how I treat such an individual as to how I treat anybody else.

I will, when asked, to help others that are being mistreated, even as well as when I see another person being mistreated and underestimated due to who they are.

My advice for fellow allies to support self-identifying women and non-binary folks who code is...

Have fun with them, it is a serious issue, however, there is no need to point out every day, and praise them for a job well done just because they were able to break through the inequality.

Top comments (0)