DEV Community

Reddkaat
Reddkaat

Posted on

New to dev

Hi all. I am a career changer after many years in healthcare and healthcare IT. I am leaning toward front end dev and am learning Python currently. I know I have a bit of a long haul ahead, any suggestions for older learners?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
th3n00bc0d3r profile image
Muhammad

Welcome to the World of devs, first of all, dont worry we have all been where you are now, its perfectly fine, natural and ok. So now what, just keep exploring one thing after another, doesnt matter if you start and dont complete one thing, everything is connected, you might start something and find its end in something entirely different, that is the world of it.

Do check my Noob Series, i hope it can contribute towards your success.

Collapse
 
erikwhiting88 profile image
Erik

welcome! I too was a career shifter and my best advice to you is: do what you want!

I spent too much time learning the "important" things that would get me a job. once I started doing projects that were fun to me, that's when I really leveled up so to speak. I picked up those important things as I went, and you will too.

stick with it, it's a lot of fun once you can really watch your ideas come to life.

(also, get great at googling)

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Welcome to Dev and congratulations on making a career change.

My #1 piece of advice is not to compare yourself to the 20-somethings. You have experience and a unique point of view that means you are not starting from scratch.