DEV Community

teakap
teakap

Posted on • Updated on

Rudy the Impostor

I don't know exactly what I am going to write or describe in these posts, but I feel an urge to express myself through this awesome blog from time to time.
Since I tend to procrastinate on a lot of stuff, I will set a goal of writing a post at least 1 time per 2 months.

Here and there I will be exaggerating on some subjects, but most of the time it will be intentional.

That said, I think it's proper to introduce Rudy the Impostor.

Who Is He

Rudy is someone who can't identify himself as a developer, a cyclist, an actor or anything in general. He has the belief that without indentifying himself as something specific he can leave his options open.

Which I don't think is a bad idea in general but, knowing Rudy a bit, I believe he does that because he is unable to make decisions on "important aspects" of his life (i.e. choosing a profession).

In the last two years, he worked as a front end dev.
Although he studied (still has to make a thesis and pass 4 courses) computer Engineering, he never considered himself a coder.

The first time he actually started coding, was during his internship as a Front End Ember guy.

Career

As an intern he jumped in a huge Ember app, without having coded for at least a couple of years. Being the imposter, that he is, he did n't do some stuff, random fixes here and there, small features there and here, but wasn't any closer to understanding what he was doing, or how all these different things are connected and working together. Constantly procrastinating, watching youtube videos (or animes sometimes) and reading random articles online.

Present

Two years later, after reading an article on a cool bloq about imposters he was totally convinced he was one. "Surely", he thought, "after two years going from intern to junior dev to intermediate freelancer to junior dev again and to conclude on Front End Dev for now, I still don't feel that I am actually producing some value in development. I am still not able to write some proper code or even build some proper software in general".

He was right. His code is at best mediocre on every aspect and his problem-solving skills the same. So what will he do now? How will he get out of this?

Coding seemed fun from time to time, but not always. For sure not when he was doing it only for the money. So he came to the decision, that in the company he is currently employed as a Front Dev, he will have fun everyday regardless of the expectations, company ambitions and rules.

He will put effort in doing the things, that he believes, will develop him either as a developer either as a person, and call bullshit on anything else.

So...

Conclusion

Dunno, how this will go exactly, but I will try to keep you updated about his status. Please, feel free to comment anything associated with anything that could have the possibility to affect anything.

See you next time!
Unless I choose to watch again random clips from One Piece, that I've already seen many times before, but still feel the urge to do that instead of writing a post here...

UPDATE:
In the end I wrote another one.

Top comments (0)