DEV Community

ricahcyuzuzo
ricahcyuzuzo

Posted on • Updated on

The challenges I faced and solutions of my remote work journey so far

Hello There, I'm Richard NSHIMYUMUKIZA. For this blog post, I'm going to share with you my experience with the first remote work I've ever done, it was so interesting. Deeply I will talk about the challenges I personally faced and even the solutions. Keep reading...

The Challenges I faced!

Most of the time, when we learn new things that we don't know, it becomes bored somehow, it becomes difficult when you start working in the way you were not familiar with. So, there are many challenges I faced!

The Internet

This is the biggest challenge I faced, Normally internet is a service that is sold by many service providers. In Rwanda, the internet that can be used in remote work can be somehow expensive for those who don't have any source of income and (I am one of those!).

It was very hard to find money for enough internet.

The working Environment

We all know that a good environment can affect your productivity and that is a principal.
While I started working remotely I had a bad working environment and affected my work.

In the first time of my remote work, I used work from my room at home but the desk setup and enough light didn't allow me to work convenience and be productive.

People around me.

It was so hard to tell people around me that I am doing my work. most of them used to know that when you have a job or any certain work you have to go to the office and there are hours to start and others for leaving the office, In my neighborhood there are few people know that someone can work at home.

The solutions!

Internet

This is how I solved the problem of the Internet, I went to a place that has fast free internet. In Kigali city, there is a place called Klab, and that place is good for those who want to learn and work remotely so if you are in Kigali city I recommend you to join that place, it is so good.

The working Environment.

To get the working environment, it took me also to get the Klab I told you above and there is a good place and it has a good working environment, there is a small cafeteria and also it is a quiet place, so to me it was a good environment.

People around me.

It took me time to convince people about what kind of work I do, and how I do that work, Something that helped is to tell them how the remote work is like how you can accomplish your work and reach out a message on a phone or send the work on WhatsApp in order to let them Understand that kind of job, which you can do wherever you are.

It was a pleasure to share with you how my first remote work.

                          -- Chills --

Top comments (0)