DEV Community

Cover image for GIT - Committing Changes
Ryan Erricson
Ryan Erricson

Posted on

GIT - Committing Changes

Change. Commitment. Two words that are synonymous with this new venture I have taken on in my career. One does not happen without the other. Software engineering is a truly daunting career path but commitment is the vessel to take me through this journey. I knew my first job out of college in logistics was not the career path I truly wanted, so I committed to a change....

Through one week and a few days of the SE course, I feel completely empowered by my decision. As I dive through the Ruby docs I see methods and functions that I can call, making complex problems easier to solve by the day. When running code through a terminal, seeing 10 examples, 0 failures has become one of the most rewarding feelings I have had in a long time. To know that I am not only learning the code but applying in certain use cases shows me that this career, while challenging as anything I have ever done, is manageable with the correct approach.

What excites me most is seeing what is possible, and what we will be able to create from now until our final project. I mean right now, creating a CLI application seems like it will be the test of a lifetime, let alone a final project. But by the end of this course, I hope to be the better person for it and cannot wait to see what I can create. Committing on a daily basis to this journey is the only way to get the desired change to not only create what I would like to create, but also change my life for the better.

git committing changes ..... done.

Top comments (0)