DEV Community

Rebecca Franks
Rebecca Franks

Posted on

Nevertheless, Rebecca Franks Coded

I began coding because...

I was curious. I wanted a job where I could combine maths and computers. I chose a degree that suited that without any knowledge of how to program. It was tough, I spent a lot more time than everyone else reading as much as I could in order to have it make sense to me. The first 6 months of university were the hardest, I couldn't cope as well as the others. I had countless thoughts of quitting but instead I kept at it until it made sense.

I'm currently hacking on...

Many things, mostly learning about Android Things and electronics. I'm a real electronics newbie, so I am learning a lot as I go and blogging about it on https://riggaroo.co.za.

I'm excited about...

The future of technology. I cant wait for driverless cars to become popular. I believe there is still so much to be discovered and made. I really want more innovations with the food industry to come about, things such as ovens that can bake things themselves and know when food is ready.

My advice for other women who code is...

It gets easier! Not easier as in "I understand everything about coding and I know it all", it gets easier as in "I don't know how to solve this problem but I am confident I can figure it out". The truth is you will never know everything there is to know, there will always be a new language, a new platform, a new templating engine. It is impossible to know everything. Most importantly just keep going. Make sure you learn a new skill everyday. Encourage others and never forget that once upon a time you also had no clue how to code.

Top comments (0)