DEV Community

Ririio
Ririio

Posted on

Adding my first Continuous Integration (CI)

When working with repositories, especially those that are written by professionals, I always get confused what the "task" is all about during a pull request. I just shrugged it off as some high level github functionality that I won't be learning for a while. However, it turns out it's very simple to set up. Having a test also helps with it, because it esnures that the user requesting to pull request understand whether their code will cause a problem in the future.

Setting up a CI

Setting up a Continous Integration is very simple. You just need to create a YAML called node.js.yml file, under the directory .github/workflows. Once these are done, simply follow the code provided from the github document, and change the value depending on what you want.

Working with a different repository

My partner's repository has always been fairly difficult to understand, due to his years of experience with coding. It took me a fairly long time to write a test for his code, because majority of it has already been touched upon. He was using snapshots which I found fairly helpful with these kinds of test.

With how much time I spent creating my CI, and seeing its benefits, I will now integrate this to my repository after I finish writing my test files.

Top comments (0)