DEV Community

Ririio
Ririio

Posted on

Starchart: Release 0.9

Starchart: Milestone 0.9

This week has been more productive and smoother than previous ones. I focused on improving the certificate section of our project, and gathered valuable user feedback to identify potential areas for enhancement. Also,

Working with a partner

For this week's milestone, I paired up with one of my fellow contributors to work on an issue that touches both our area of expertise. I have always held my fellow contributors in a high standard (doesn't meant I don't right now), and always push myself down as someone who is beneath all of them.

Of course in a sense, they are better than me in regards to their knowledge, but it did fill me with comfort knowing that I can still contribute to the project even by the smallest thing.

There are benefits of working with someone on fixing an issue. One of the main benefits is to foresee oncoming issues quicker and more efficient. When I was writing my code, he told me of bugs I did not even noticed, and probably would have wasted a lot of my time resolving.

By the end of our session, we published a PR, and although usually I tend to overlook a bunch of things, and my reviewers points it out, for this week there wasn't much.

User Feed Back

I was tasked to have someone who has no connection with the project to test the website, and write notes on any issues they found, and any improvements that we can work on.

Aside from minor suggestions like using "Create" instead of "Manage" for the button name of the card

Image description

Most of issued stemmed from "Create New DNS Record" page. There aren't enough information for him to actually know what he's suppose to be doing. The labels provided and tooltip aren't good enough to actually understand anything. Although, I like the idea of a tooltip, but the user seems to ignore this valuable tool.

Conclusion

It was fun working with another person on an issue, and I would want to do it again if given an opportunity. Having to have someone review your project feels nice to have, and an outsider's perspective on teh code does come a long way.

Top comments (0)