DEV Community

Ririio
Ririio

Posted on

GIT COMMIT -M "First Blog"

About Me

My name is Mario Leonardo, and I'm a semester 5 student at Seneca College for "Computer Programming & Analysis" program. I learned how to write in Java during my time in high school; seeing my codes do things that I wanted them to do filled me with joy. I wrote a code from a simple game of "tic tac toe", to a few thousand lines of code of a "text" RPG.

I wasn't sure if I wanted to become a game developer, so I decided to study at Seneca for "Computer Programming & Analysis" to have a fundamental idea on how it feels to program larger codes. I realized after being here for four semesters that software developing isn't really for me. While it was fun seeing my program do incredible things, it just wasn't as exciting as I hoped for it to be. That's when I found a new passion for web developing. Object Oriented Programming felt restrictive for me, and I get more enjoyment when I don't have to follow a specific format when writing my code.

I was a little familiar with what an "Open Source" is through my time at Seneca. I was fascinated by how an operating system like "Linux" came to be, and how anyone even those who doesn't have that much experience with programming can help out in upgrading the system, and build their own knowledge through their time working on it. It makes people without any prior working experience like myself stand out during my application process.

Future Goals

I'm still young and inexperienced, I don't even have a goal that I want to accomplish. However, there is one thing in my mind that I have to succeed at or my time at Seneca and this course in particular will all be for nothing. I have never been a confident person, and even now I still struggle from voicing my own opinion, because I'm afraid of being wrong. I plan that throughout my time in this course, that I start to build more confidence by posting blogs and source code and ask people for help when working on the projects; specifically web based projects.

GitHub Projects

WTFJS: https://github.com/denysdovhan/wtfjs

JavaScript is a fun language to write with. I enjoy creating both the back-end and front-end side of my website, but there's always that one problem that will take me literally hours if not days just to figure out what it is, and the answer usually is very simple. This project lists explanations for weird things that happens in JavaScript, it allows beginners to get a deeper understanding of the language.

Top comments (0)