DEV Community

Rajesh Jain
Rajesh Jain

Posted on

React Hooks - useContext and State

I am using useContext react hook, and when I get the context from the useContext, is there a way to access the state?

I might be mixing up things,

here is my global state component

    <GlobalContext.Provider
      value={{
        loadingProducts: state.loadingProducts,
        products: state.products,
        cart: state.cart,
        searchTerm: state.searchTerm,
        addProductToCart: addProductToCart,
        removeProductFromCart: removeProductFromCart,
        showAllProducts: showAllProducts,
        showFilteredProducts: showFilteredProducts,
        initCatalog: initCatalog,
        catalogLoadSuccess: catalogLoadSuccess,
        catalogLoadFailure: catalogLoadFailure

      }}
    >
      {props.children}
    </GlobalContext.Provider>

and here is my initial state object

const initialState = {
  initialProducts: [],
  products: [],
  cart: [],
  searchTerm: '',
  loadingProducts: true
};

I have initialized the Global State

const GlobalState = props => {
  const [state, dispatch] = useReducer(reducer, initialState);

I want to get to the state object (loadingProducts) from my component and this is how I am getting it.

  const context = useContext(GlobalContext);
  const {loadingProducts} = context.loadingProducts

Question: Can I access the state directly from context, in my component
ie.

const context = useContext(GlobalContext);

// Or is there an alternative?
const state = context.state

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
lalami profile image
Salah Eddine Lalami

@ IDURAR , we use react context api for all UI parts , and we keep our data layer inside redux .

Here Article about : 🚀 Mastering Advanced Complex React useContext with useReducer ⭐ (Redux like Style) ⭐ : dev.to/idurar/mastering-advanced-c...


Mastering Advanced Complex React useContext with useReducer (Redux like Style)