DEV Community

Cover image for My First Open Source Contribution
Rahul Khinchi
Rahul Khinchi

Posted on

My First Open Source Contribution

Hey Guys,
DISCLAIMER: THIS IS MY EXPERIENCE AND I AM STILL A BEGINNER
I was very afraid at first to understand the hype of Open source contribution and the only guidance I had is YouTube and to be precise @codeforcause channel.

~HOW TO Know which project is good for you?

  1. I only learned java and java intermediate but when I saw projects it was like tons of projects and I was confused, so I opened every project and I was trying to understand the readMe file and also the organization provides different documentations to understand the issues.

  2. I joined Checkstyle community after all the understanding and the first thing I did is, 1. Connected with the community through 1.GITTER and introduced myself. 2. Added to google groups for doubts.

  3. After joining I visited the Codebase of the Checkstyle and I saw all the issues by labeling GSOC FIRST ISSUE.

  4. I first saw closed issues to understand how to solve them.

  5. After that, I got a lot of doubts and I first learned git
    command because Git and GitHub are like Heart of Body.

  6. The issuer also provides some information to solve the issue.

  7. Also remember, after solving the issue, you should always wait for test checks and if the test fails and if you don't have any idea, go and ask in the comment about it.

THATS ALL FOR NOW, I RESOLVED ONLY 2 ISSUES IN LAST 6 DAYS BUT I LEARNED A LOT ABOUT:

  1. HOW TO GENERATE JAVA DOC
  2. MAVEN TOOL
  3. XPATH
  4. GIT COMMANDS

REMEMEBER: I ONLY KNEW JAVA WHEN I STARTED

I will recommend you (if you are reading this):
visit this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDE3tOa4JUs&list=PLyzHIYrZBplqcJXQ0XWA4gRs0sdh6zWfD

(I am not promoting this, but this helped me a lot to understand and learn.)

Top comments (0)