DEV Community

Roberto Marungo
Roberto Marungo

Posted on

My Journey into Software Development

My journey began in the 6th grade in the year 2000 there was an after-school program that summer that allowed those students without a computer at home to learn how to utilize computers. The instructor hosting this class was a computer science major who previously worked in the field of computers and technology for a while and decided to instead teach kids math in elementary schools. This is when I first learn what HTML was. Writing a few lines in the Netscape browser. I was amazed at what a few lines of code could do like bring pages with information to life by formatting text and images to give us something so cool.

Image description

Fast forward to the year 2014 where again after a hard long life, I stumbled into programming in the form of a book written by Barry Burd (Java for Dummies) I fell in love with the language by reading books and watching tutorials on YouTube by a channel named mybringback (Travis). I also stumbled into the Team-Treehouse website where I wrote my first application for android with the help of their Android development track, later monetizing it and making a cool 5 grand. I was astonished how such a simple app could generate over 100k downloads and bring back so much revenue I used the money towards a new laptop to help continue on my journey.

Image description

I am now enrolled in FlatIron Bootcamp it is very challenging and demanding but I have learned a lot in the last few weeks that will help in my pursuit of a software developer job. I am currently learning JavaScript and other technologies like HTML, CSS, and Ruby to form what is known as a FullStack Web Developer. After completion of this program, I plan to develop open-source software and as well work for a technology company that has great values and goals.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Welcome, it's great to hear your journey.