DEV Community

Robinson Santana Silverio
Robinson Santana Silverio

Posted on • Updated on

Why I Started Programing

In psychology there is the idea of the id(subconscious), ego(conscious), and superego(society/culture). The idea being these three, or variations of them, represent how we project ourselves. My friends have often told me that my superego is nearly nonexistent. I suspect they are correct, as I never hold my tongue and I never lie. This is not always a good quality to have, but it has made others view me as someone who's word can be trusted.

I could never imagine myself a living sedentary life. So when I looked into what programming could accomplish, and how many ways I could work as a programmer, I had found an excellent career path; always learning and I can pace myself accordingly . Even if my first job is more typical, I can change that once I gain more experience and build by resume. And even if I no longer wish to work for a tech company, programmers are needed in most aspects of American life. With these skills, I can even create my own company if I so choose. Programing may follow me for the rest of my life.

That is the most important aspect of learning to code; I can choose. Every fiber of my being cries out for that kind of freedom. I am thankful to have found a path which can allow me to be myself. (To be fair I would have done that anyway. But now I can gain more from it).

I look forward to what I will learn in the future. And I am beyond excited to see where I take this knowledge and apply it to my goals.

Top comments (0)