DEV Community

RogersTerra
RogersTerra

Posted on

I have built a programming language in python.

I have programmed a lang in python from scratch.

I have used no external library.

for over 2 months or 3 I have been working on this project. It was very interesting in the beginning but the problem comes at the end creating executables and also packaging.

I am done with the snytax it looks great.

All I am wishing, is PyInstaller to give me a clue on how it packages python, this will be enough to make the language interactive and show it out.

For more more information,

visit my github, I have made the code very readable so you can pick up easily if you understand Python very well.
github.com/RogersTerra/Terra.git

you can contribute to the project's code if you have any idea, I will be greatful.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
hebigami profile image
Hebigami-nya

I'm curious, why did you choose python?

As I understand python is probably the worst* possible Lang zu implement another among all somewhat popular Langs (excluding domain specific Langs like HTML/CSS and so on ...)

*referrs to the performance of the result

Collapse
 
rogersterra profile image
RogersTerra

To me python is very easy to use and understand, it has very many libraries for almost everything, and am also a fun of the C styled languages "{ //code }" like Javscript and C itself. So i just indented to make a language that uses "{ // syntax }" C styling and has almost all the power of python.

Collapse
 
amirko722 profile image
amirko722

Sounds well... Can U provide to me your email, I would like to contribute... have few ideas

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

If the goal is to design a language and iterate fast, Python is an excellent choice.

If the goal is to be performant, then once the language has been fleshed out, then the next step is to port it to a language frontend.

Collapse
 
hrikban profile image
64Bit-USER

Kindly update it with a readme so that it could become much more informative like any other programming language documentation.

Collapse
 
unfor19 profile image
Meir Gabay

Yup, seems weird to publish a new language without explaining about .. The language 🤷🏻‍♂️

Collapse
 
vedantmatanhelia profile image
Vedant-Matanhelia

I am also curious as to why are you using python.
I mean it is good and easy but you will see slower running of code than all the other languages and if a language is made using python then its speed will reduce too

Collapse
 
theyashwanthsai profile image
Yashwanth Sai

Hey can i contribute to ur project? Atleast Readme.