DEV Community

Roman Rezinkin
Roman Rezinkin

Posted on

DPS909 - Release 0.3 External Pull Request

Introduction

For release 0.3 in DPS909, we had a few parts that we needed to accomplish in the assignment. This blog post will discuss my experience with contributing to an external repository. The repository of choice was Meshery.

To find out what exactly Meshery is, click this link.

The issue

The issue that was brought up in this external repository, was to create a Legend, that resembled a Legend from a different page within the Meshery codebase.

Here is the link to the issue: ISSUE-616

The PR

So, I began my journey of implementing the legend on that specific page.

Setup

The setup was rather easy, however with being a ruby based application, it did not really like Windows. The instructions found in Mesherys README helped streamline the process for me, however I did have to iron out some kinks. There were two gems that needed to be installed manually (tzinfo and tzinfo-data). Once those two gems were installed all I had to do was execute

bundle exec jekyll serve --drafts --livereload

Implementation

Finding where I needed to implement my changes did not take long to find. Once I saw the general structure of the code, I quickly began modifying the HTML elements and the CSS styling. The HTML elements were very quick to create, however the CSS styling took majority of my time. I do not have the most CSS experience, so I was glad I took on this challenge. The hardest part was figuring out the flex-boxes, and their positioning on the screen, as well as ensuring that with a Mobile view, everything still looked correct and in order. To make my Legend look good, I downloaded the same icons that can be found here, and used them in my legend. Doing so would make the user understand the icons better, as well as their meaning.

Here you can find my PR: https://github.com/meshery/meshery.io/pull/617

The Conclusion

Overall, I found working on this external issue really rewarding. Not only did it challenge me to get the CSS working accordingly, but it felt really rewarding once I saw it being responsive, and behaving as expected. I also found the contributors of Meshery to super nice and quick to respond to PR comments.

Top comments (0)