DEV Community

Ronald Colyar
Ronald Colyar

Posted on

How Linear Alegbra got me a SWE position

I have always been a fan of applied mathematics and studied mathematics for years to better understand the underlying logic behind various areas of engineering. Almost all of the ideas in computer science can be traced to some mathematical root, and I took note of that early on in my journey.

Before this position, I was working at a company where the only required math was basic arithmetic and algorithmic analysis. I got contacted by a company who recognized my Rust skills by taking a look at my open source projects on my Github profile at the time.

The company reached out regarding an Application they were working on that would be similar to a 2D game that would use the concept of space to allow users to move things together in the space.

This concept of space comes from linear algebra and that is when it hit me! I didn't have any experience working in Computational geometry but I did have enough background in linear algebra to take up the challenge.

My understanding of linear algebra led to me to being what the company regarded as the "Best Fit Candidate", I am sure there were other factors that led to this conclusion, but the biggest was linear algebra.

I went on to create key-features of the product that relied heavily on vectors. Now that I think back on that position, without understanding the concept of vector space, I wouldn't of lasted a week.

Top comments (0)