DEV Community

Ross Kaffenberger
Ross Kaffenberger

Posted on

What programming language(s) do you want to learn in 2020?

I’m not sure if this counts as a new language, but I want to learn TypeScript this year. I’ve used JavaScript my entire career and now I’m finally curious to see for myself what all the hype is about.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

TypeScript with Angular

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

Well for now I want to learn and get better with Kotlin and get better with languages like Rust.
Maybe actually decide to learn some frontend framework, which is something I didn't ever liked as an application developer. So maybe some Flutter and React including react native.
I think that is about it. Also I do like to pursue more development in my current languages like python and C++ and also do more side projects and learn better Unity development with C#.

That would be about it. I might add something new if I find some really interesting language. :)

Collapse
 
saint4eva profile image
saint4eva

C#

Collapse
 
imrj profile image
imrj

Never forget who is C... Still hands down the undisputed champion of OOP to me

Collapse
 
saint4eva profile image
saint4eva

Use whatever makes you happy. Is just a tool to accomplish a task.

Collapse
 
aewens profile image
Austin Ewens

Rust or Go

Collapse
 
imrj profile image
imrj

Am scratching my head but I would foresee a time where we don't need to code or learn computer languages. I mean is it just me or is it backwards?? Heck the computers should learn our language instead and forget writing code, we just give it the logic we want it to do, right? I don't particularly care for learning languages, syntax and writing lines of code, as humans we need to use what we have best, our prefrontal cortex and it's logic

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Rust => Deno + WA

Collapse
 
tringakrasniqi profile image
Tringa Krasniqi

I already started learning about React and planning later on get into the MERN stack, aiming for a full-stack _^

Collapse
 
hwolfe71 profile image
Herb Wolfe

Whichever one will help me get a new job doing actual programming.

I may go back and work on learning Ruby again, and make an adventure game.

Collapse
 
heithemmoumni profile image
Heithem Moumni

Rust + python + typeScript