DEV Community

Ryan Thomas
Ryan Thomas

Posted on

Convert Word (DocX) to PDF without any OS dependencies

In the previous post I wrote about a tool I wrote in a very simplistic manner to manipulate word documents on the command line so I could grep for various text in there.

Today I have created another tool on [GitHub (https://github.com/rthomascloud/word2pdf) which carries out the tedious task of converting an MS Word (DocX) file to a PDF without having MS word installed on a server. This tool is still a work in progress as the underlying library just started supporting this feature, I will be filing bug requests for them, but I have already started using this for my customers. I have also created off the shelf docker images based on Alpine that can now convert Word documents to PDF and still being only a few megabytes of size.

Feel free to try the tool and leave me feedback on GitHub issues, I love making useful and cross platform CLI tools to make life easier.

Top comments (0)