DEV Community

Rudy Chung
Rudy Chung

Posted on

Release 0.3 External Pull Request

For my release 0.3 for OSD600, I have to create a pull request for an external repo. The repo I contributed to was cve-bin-tool. This post was late because I had was busy with other commitments and projects compounded with problems finding workable issues. In the future, I would definitely follow my own advice and search for issues early and often. I didn't follow this advice and found myself in this position.

My pull request

My pull request involved updating syntax for some files in order to modernize the code in the project. I've had minimal exposure to Python, only having worked on another student's SSG made in Python, so it was somewhat of a shift to understand the basics of Python syntax. There isn't much more to say at the moment, but I will update this post as I receive feedback from the maintainers and hopefully have my pull request merged.

What I learned

Definitely look for issues that are "good enough", and as stated earlier to look for issues early and often. I took the last few days just too search for issues only to come up with nothing. There definitely are much less viable issues now that Hacktoberfest is over, which though I expected but didn't didn't anticipate a drought to this degree. For release 0.4, I will keep these things in mind and try my best to set myself up for success.

Top comments (0)