DEV Community

Russ
Russ

Posted on

Why I Am Preparing for My Next Role

Things need to change. The direction of my development in my current company has become unfavourable for me to grow as a dev.

My current role has shifted from being a software engineer to that of a more operational/marketing role. I have written 0 lines of code for the app in the past 3 week, and thats not my choice but from management because other parts have been deemed more critical by them. This change is likely to persist many months into the future.

I became a software dev to buildl, not to do marketing or any other of these tasks. This job scope is likely to continue in the future and will really stunt my growth as a dev. And in all honesty, I already have had good success doing marketing, strategic planning and operational management in my former business (pre-pandemic) and work.

On the practical side of things, I havent been given equity (formally) like I was promised and I don't get paid enough to do all those things combined. I am very clear on my professional worth.

Don't get me wrong, I dont mind these tasks as long as my main role is to develop the software/code with the other things as side responsibilities.

A dev should always code/build as their primary source of contribution.

Since I believe in discarding or walking away for situations that don't help you achieve your goal, I am going to prepare myself for the next job.

These next few months are going to be fun :)

Top comments (0)