DEV Community

Cover image for I'm Joining Sentry
Ryan Carniato
Ryan Carniato

Posted on

I'm Joining Sentry

I'm excited to announce I am joining the team at Sentry.

Sentry provides tooling for monitoring and error tracing to ensure you build the best possible applications for your customers. They firmly believe that as a developer your customer journey doesn't end when you ship the code.

They will graciously be supporting my continued full-time work on SolidJS and Open Source as we enter our next phase. I'm enthusiastic to return to my roots as we revisit Solid's reactive system for the first time in 6 years on our journey to 2.0. Traceability and debuggability are top of mind as we enter new realms with Async Signals and push the boundaries of fine-grained reactivity in real-time systems.

Solid and Signals has completely transformed the way modern JavaScript frameworks are designed over a few short years. Sentry's commitment to investing in the future will allow us to take the steps we need to continue to pioneer the direction of front-end development.

As much as this is exciting news, it does mean that sadly I'm moving on from Netlify. Netlify which has been my home for the last 2 years and who believed in us(and me) before anyone else did. Their support is what made SolidStart possible. I've learned so much about deployment and infrastructure working closely with the Frameworks and Primitives team. I've traveled the world giving talks alongside the Developer Experience team. In this role, I've had the opportunity to work with some of the most amazing people inside and outside of Netlify.

Just because I'm moving on doesn't change our relationship with Netlify. They are the best place to deploy your Solid and SolidStart applications and I'm very blessed to be able to continue my close work on their mission to build a better web for everyone.

To that effect, I am also excited to announce SolidHack 2024. It's an opportunity for everyone around the community to build cool projects for fun and the chance at prizes. Prizes generously donated by our sponsors, Sentry and Netlify.

Image description

It is still an incredible time to be working in open source web development. I can't wait to see what we will build. Together.

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
jherr profile image
Jack Herrington

Does this mean that Sentry is using, or will be using, Solid as the basis of their UI?

Collapse
 
ryansolid profile image
Ryan Carniato

If they do that would be cool, but that wasn't the idea behind this. I know some people over here use Solid otherwise I wouldn't have gotten in the door, but this to my knowledge hasn't gotten into the product.

We're in an interesting state of things where people know where things should go but are stuck. This support from Sentry ensures that we can continue the work to make the choice that much easier to make in the future.

Collapse
 
jherr profile image
Jack Herrington

Fantastic! I'm super glad for you, for Solid, and for Sentry. Sentry is doing good work out there in the community. Hats off to them!

Collapse
 
jordanpowell88 profile image
Jordan Powell

Wow! Congrats Ryan!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Congrats!

Collapse
 
thatcloudexpert profile image
That Cloud Expert • Edited

Good read Ryan and congrats !
Short question: How do you foresee the integration of Sentry’s monitoring and error tracing tools enhancing the development and performance tracking of SolidJS applications, especially as you explore new features like Async Signals in Solid 2.0

Collapse
 
ryansolid profile image
Ryan Carniato

We've been working on SolidStart SDK and I'm hoping my insight into signals can help monitoring for all modern JS frameworks.

Collapse
 
kirilltregubov profile image
Kirill Tregubov

This is great news, Ryan! Congratulations!

Sentry’s mission is very important. Glad they’re making such efforts to support OSS

Collapse
 
artydev profile image
artydev

Congrat Ryan

Collapse
 
sylwiavargas profile image
Sylwia Vargas

That's fantastic news! Congratulations 👏

Collapse
 
boudewijndanser profile image
Boudewijn Danser

Congratulations to you and Sentry!

Collapse
 
femincan profile image
Furkan Emin Can

Congrats Ryan!

Collapse
 
yashrajxdev profile image
Yashraj

Congratulations 💐

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg

Congrats! I love Sentry!

Collapse
 
fbritoferreira profile image
Filipe Brito Ferreira

Good luck seems like sentry is assembling a very good team over there

Collapse
 
shricodev profile image
Shrijal Acharya

Congratulations, Ryan!