DEV Community

Cover image for Question about a process of building a real world web...
Saeed
Saeed

Posted on

Question about a process of building a real world web...

I'm curious about the process of building a real web app.

because I'm trying to build a web application (management system) right now, I'm not sure I'm not certain which part of entire code i should start first.

Should I create the front-end design and interaction first, or create a back-end function first?

Or do I have to do both at the same time with each function part like login, register, upload etc.?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
wteja profile image
Weerayut Teja

There are many way, But I can say you can start with backend because it can stores the static web app as well.

But if you want to separate it also depends on you.
You can create frontend app and have mocking data before actually connect with real API

Or start with Backend first. Test all of endpoints, then create frontend to connect it later.

But for me, If I work on my project as solo developer.
I usually start with backend first. Create and test first fearture such as signin / signup.
Then create frontend app, start with signin/signout feature.

After it done, I move next to the next features. Repeat them until done.