DEV Community

Cover image for Code Calling
sudha
sudha

Posted on

Code Calling

For those who are reading it , this piece isn't about technology, not yet at least . It's day 4 of my journey into the world of tech, computers, coding, web-dev , programming , DSA etc.
That's right , I'm a newbie, a beginner but you got to start somewhere. Although I have my bachelor's degree in computer science and engineering and even backed a good job ,but my heart's desire was somewhere else ;
I wanted to join the Armed Forces, so I dedicated my heart and mind ,left my job and walked towards it ,against all odds - family , background, opportunities. Studied , worked hard physically and mentally for the dream I had , until 1 month ago; Due to Cubitus valgus,( a bone condition in which your elbows bend more than is necessary) I was declared unfit and permanently dismissed, which explains why I struggled in physical training.I was disappointed and feeling overwhelmed and confused because I had worked so hard for this for a whole year and had given it everything I had.

I took a long breath and a break for 20 days to figure out what I want .

"Life gives you lemons " fitted so right. Then I began looking for what I wanted—finance, technology, whatever.
Is it too late for me to begin my career in this profession now that the employment market is weak after reading on Quora about how people are having trouble finding work? My hopes weren't high because the majority of responses were negative.

Up until lately, I didn't read blogs, but I did come across one written by Jack. I requested him to be my mentor and guide me in tech world out of desperation. Then I questioned why anyone would help me or even reply to my email, but to my surprise, he did so very quickly. To make a short tale shorter, he accepted and first requested that I start blogging about the things I learn and study.
Now that I've started to take an interest in this job field and even enjoy learning new things, I'm feeling a little less scared and a little more confident about myself in this journey. After only six days, I've already stopped worrying about the "Lemons" and i'm motivated to learn and work harder. This is my first blog, and I'll continue to write about the new things i explore as I work towards being a software engineer.

Coming up next- GIT

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jacktt profile image
Jack

You can do it, trust me!

Collapse
 
anubhavbehera2 profile image
ANUBHAV BEHERA

👏👏👏

Collapse
 
jyotika_das_2009 profile image
Jyotika Das

You got this💫

Collapse
 
anubhavbehera2 profile image
ANUBHAV BEHERA

👏👏👏👏