DEV Community

Sarah Doire
Sarah Doire

Posted on

Nevertheless, Sarah Doire Coded

I began coding because...

I was dissatisfied with my career as a retail manager and wanted to use my love of logic in order to create products for people to use. Coding was the answer.

I'm currently hacking on...

Honestly, mostly work projects, but I do hope to get back to my personal project that is an app designed to keep track of one's physical musical collection (CDs, vinyl, etc.). I've found that most available apps are designed with digital music collections in mind. As someone who has bought duplicate CDs and records more than I care to admit, this app is a perfect way to keep track of what is on my shelves when I'm out record shopping.

I'm excited about...

Diving deeper into using ElasticSearch and eventually switching from Angular 1.5 to Angular 2. (Or will it be 4 by then?!)

My advice for other women who code is...

Especially when first starting out as a developer, or when you're learning a new technology, do not be discouraged or frustrated by failure. I've been told to expect 90% failure and 10% success, and that seems pretty accurate. The 90% failure makes that 10% of successes so much sweeter! Also, do not compare your knowledge base to that of others and decide you're not as good. Only compare your knowledge base to what it was a week ago, a month ago, a year ago...and you'll be super impressed with how much you have grown as a developer!

Top comments (0)