DEV Community

Sara Shaikh
Sara Shaikh

Posted on

Barclays Internship Interview Experience

-Sara Shaikh

Firstly a bit about myself, I am Sara Shaikh, an undergrad student (2024 grad) from Pune Institute Of Computer Technology, Pune.

You can connect with me here:-

https://www.linkedin.com/in/sara-shaikh/

Barclays visited my college for a summer internship in the month of October 2022. The process had 2 rounds:-

_Round 1: Online Assessment
_

The online Assessment had 30 MCQ questions and 2 coding questions in a time duration of 45 mins. The window was open for 2 hours but you would get only 45 mins to complete the test.

The MCQ questions were majorly focused on :

  • Predicting Output in Java and C++
  • Socket Programming
  • Basic ML Python code
  • JavaScript Vanilla Js
  • No SQL
  • Database queries
  • Normalization
  • MongoDB
  • Computer Networks
  • Security

The coding questions were easy to medium level depending on your luck! Some of my classmates got difficult DP (Dynamic Programming) questions. But I got String and Array-based questions which were similar to:

The shortlisting comes within 2 weeks approximately. 80 people were shortlisted. So if you have solved both coding questions expect to get a call for an interview and start preparing!

_Round 2: Interview
_

The interview was scheduled for 19th October 2022 around 12.30. Be on time or better before time. I was waiting for the interviewer in the Microsoft Teams lobby for 10 mins. But when the interviewer joined I got disconnected and my webcam didn’t work. Though I had tested it thoroughly before entering, it happened at the last minute that it didn’t work! So I joined immediately with my mobile. So keep everything prepared and stay calm even if anything is not working!

The interviewer was a friendly person. The interview was held online on Teams. In Barclay’s, the interviewer is generally one of their VPs with good experience.

Firstly I was asked questions based on my resume and then some CS fundamental questions and then finally the behavioral questions. Keep your resume crisp and clear to the point! This will help you in an interview!

Some of the questions that I was asked in the interview are mentioned below:-

  1. Tell me your specialized skill on your resume.
  2. Explain your best project.
  3. Why did you use PHP?
  4. What was my role in it?
  5. What are the Three forms of connecting the database?
  6. Which PHP version did you use while developing the project?
  7. How do you comment in PHP?
  8. Importance of commenting in Programming?
  9. What are the data types used in PHP that are not included in C++?
  10. Which function in PHP will give you information about a variable?
  11. What are the various PHP frameworks that you are aware of? And which all did you use in your project?
  12. How did you incorporate a trigger into your project?
  13. What are threads and sockets?
  14. What are cursors, procedures, along with syntax?
  15. Types of cursors and their differences?
  16. What are stored procedures and how do you call them? *
  17. Are stored procedures compiled once only?
  18. Difference between delete and truncate. *
  19. How do you manage differences of opinion in a team? *
  20. How can you print a message on the command prompt?
  21. How do you relax after a hectic day?
  22. Do you prefer to go for higher studies? And if not then Why so?
  23. What are your future plans? After joining any organization?
  24. What is Sara as a person?

Okay, so these were some of the questions that I was asked! Now lastly he asked me if I had some questions And I asked him three questions. That’s all from the interviewer’s side!!

Around 50 students were selected. And I was one of them!!

Now from my side,

Though I was nervous as it was my first interview, I was confident about my preparations. I tried to motivate myself like “No matter what I have an opportunity to get an experience!!”

It’s never that all questions you answer will be on point! So do expect some cross-questioning. The interviewer is always there to give you hints for the answer, just stay calm and answer the questions. The interviewer was trying to dig into a few questions like the starred ones above. He was trying to test my patience there. Don’t get panic even if he tells you that your answer is wrong. I was giving correct answers but he was simply checking if I would change my answers. Be confident! But definitely if you have no clue about the answer then politely respond by saying that “ I will definitely read about this after my interview”. Give alternate solutions to a problem but don’t give up!

_Observations:
_

The interviewer is just trying to understand your behavior and attitude.
Your communication skills are being tested in that 45 mins duration.
The approach or simply your thought process is being judged.
The way you react to something you don’t know about is also important.
The interviewer purposely puts you in a situation where you will feel pressured but how you handle it will actually count!

_Mainly:
_

  • Read about RISES values, though I was not asked about this. But I have portrayed answers that reflect these values in my nature or behaviour.
  • Be prepared to “tell me about yourself” as first impression matters.
  • Practice DSA questions on geeksforgeeks and leetcode easy and medium level.
  • MOST IMPORTANTLY: Talk to your seniors about their experiences which will help you get better.
  • You can try mock interviews with your friends which will help you understand where you lack and where you can improve. You will definitely understand where you may fumble in the actual interview. If possible try giving a mock to a senior because definitely they will guide you more than your peers. I had given 2 mocks to 2 different seniors. And 3 mocks to friends one day before the interview. My seniors guided me to understand that I was lacking in clarity while speaking. Similarly you will also disclose where you lack apparently.
  • Practice communicating with yourself effectively.
  • Know your projects well. You should be able to talk about them for around 20 mins.
  • Be thorough with your resume.
  • Read geeksforgeeks archive related to the company.
  • Be confident in an interview.
  • Here you have to show that you are best so don’t be shy to talk about your good work and achievements. I think it would be a plus if you could show them one of their values in your behavioral Question-Answers ( Not mandatory but good to have if it comes spontaneously ).
  • It is important to ask a good question at the end to the interviewer. That shows your interest in the company.
  • If you get the name of the panelist before interview, just search about his domain and prepare accordingly.

Send a LinkedIn request to your panelist after the interview.
Last but one of the most important tip would be, to have patience. Before Barclays I didn’t clear the first round (Coding round/Online Assessment) of 3–4 companies in a row. This was my very first interview. Maintain a healthy relation with your seniors because they are the ones who have been in your shoes and have passed that phase with or without flying colours. Remember people who fail have more knowledge that the ones who win. So have confidence. I know this can be hectic but TRUST the PROCESS. Dont give up! Stay humble always. Give your 100%. Feel free to contact me for any guidance and support!

All The Best!

Top comments (0)