DEV Community

Saxode
Saxode

Posted on

Guys! Learn Git!

Alrighty, guys, this will be a super short post, cuz I am just trying to make a challenge called #learn-git-in-an-hour, yes, learn it in an hour, I just finished it and hope this challenge can give you the courage to learn git, good luck!
(If you finished, remember to comment below!)

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
clarabellum profile image
clara (stay home 👩‍💻)

AND GALS! Git for everyone!

Collapse
 
qainsights profile image
NaveenKumar Namachivayam ⚡

Is there a dedicated page available for the challenge ⁉

Collapse
 
saxode profile image
Saxode

Sorry no, this is just a dumb challenge haha

Collapse
 
shahrozahmd profile image
Shahroz Ahmed

I've already learned it :D

Collapse
 
saxode profile image
Saxode

Congratz! lol

Collapse
 
shahrozahmd profile image
Shahroz Ahmed

🤣

Collapse
 
antonmelnyk profile image
Anton Melnyk • Edited

Pretty sure one hour isn't near enough to learn git besides git clone and git commit :D

Collapse
 
saxode profile image
Saxode

Huh I learned from git --version to git push, not a problem

Collapse
 
clarabellum profile image
clara (stay home 👩‍💻)

That's the great thing about git! It CAN do about 1000 things, but most of the time you only need it to do three or four things. I use git at my job every day, and I can probably count the commands I use on two hands.

  • status
  • push
  • pull
  • commit
  • branch
  • checkout
  • add
  • merge?
Thread Thread
 
saxode profile image
Saxode

Yes git is easy to learn, but if you really want to learn all the commands, uh oh

Collapse
 
slavius profile image
Slavius

I work with git (on a daily basis) for more than 18 months now in a project of 6 people and I can tell I do not understand git the way I'd like to. I'll let you know when I'm done...

Collapse
 
saxode profile image
Saxode

Wdym, I think git is awesome