DEV Community

Jeremy Seago
Jeremy Seago

Posted on • Originally published at seago.io on

HyperTerm or: How I've Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Electron-ification of Everything

Electron apps seem to be what the kids are into these days, but after dipping my toes into some of the most popular (atom, gitkraken, etc.) I eventually retreat back to the more traditional tool.

That is until I tried HyperTerm. I think it's quite possibly because the traditional alternative, iTerm2, never engendered the sort of loyalty out of me that something like my editor of choice would. After all a terminal emulator is mostly just a means to an end. As long as I can run zsh, neovim, and tmux in a way that doesn't make my eyes bleed, who cares right?

The real benefits become apparent when you start creating plugins. Something powerful occurs when the barrier to entry for modifying a tool that you use everyday is so low that HTML, CSS and JavaScript can clear it. Writing a plugin for whatever feature you want to add becomes faster than searching for an alternative app that does what you want. In the first day I was able to contribute to several functionality plugins for the platform and even created a plugin to port over my oh so important colorscheme.

HyperTerm dotfiles

This post was originally published on seago.io

Top comments (0)