DEV Community

Cover image for How to Write a Successful Job Description for a Developer Role
Sean Killeen
Sean Killeen

Posted on • Originally published at seankilleen.com on

How to Write a Successful Job Description for a Developer Role

I got a surprising amount of positive feedback on a job description I wrote recently, both internally and from candidates. So, I figured I’d write up my process here in case it can help anyone.

Caveat up front : There are lots of ways to do this well; this is just one way that happened to work without a ton of effort on my part.

A Window Into Your Company’s Culture

The job description is a way for you to live your company’s culture. Use that to your advantage. Does it reflect the values of your organization? Does it reflect the way you intend to show up as a leader? Think about key words and ideas that reflect your culture/value that you feel strongly about and work them into the post.

Read the rest at SeanKilleen.com!

Top comments (0)