DEV Community

Seog-Jun Hong
Seog-Jun Hong

Posted on

2023 Hacktoberfest #2

Issue
PR

After I worked on the first PR of 2023 Hacktoberfest I got confident in finding and contributing to open-source projects. And I could easily find a new project called Musicia a web based music player application. It looked like a small project and they only used plain Javascript,HTML and CSS, so I was sure that I'd fix the bug in the project.

A bunch of bugs were already in the Issues and I easily found a bug, it was not able to redirect to sign-in and log-in pages even though buttons were created.

Image description

The previous code didn't have <a></a> tag to redirect to each page, and the sign-in and log-in two buttons were too close because of class='user' CSS. So, I simply added <a></a> tag to each icon to redirect to pages/login.html and pages/signup.html. Also, I used class='nav-links for consistency of navbar instead of `class='user'.

Image description

Even though it was a simple issue and PR, it took longer than I expected because the author didn't approve not in order and I had to update index.html to avoid conflicts when the new merge came up.

Now, I really got interested in open-source projects and want to keep contributing to the open-source world even though Hacktoberfest and my course is over later on. Also, I updated my README.md profile page to show my GitHub's Stat and actively work on open-source projects. Feel free to follow my account, and learn new technologies, share ideas, and work on open-source projects together!

Top comments (0)