DEV Community

Seog-Jun Hong
Seog-Jun Hong

Posted on

Adding a new feature to another project that I didn't write

On week5, I added a new feature to support -c and --config flags with a config file by using TOML. In the beginning, it was pretty hard to understand the codes as I didn't write at all, and I spent lots of time on figuring out how the project worked. After I fully understand index.js page and I started implementing codes by parsing the data from a TOML config file. While adding the feature, I found out that the program only accepted a single .txt file, so I reached out to the author and he easily sorted it out, I thought communication is quite important in an open-source project. Also, he asked me to follow the coding style and conventions, and to update couple of minor changes.

Image description

In terms of Git, I didn't really know about why I need to use git remote stuff, but at this time I fully understand how it works and it's pretty essential in an open-source project. A few weeks ago, while I was testing PR review on my local machine, I used to download code from the repo and run it manually. However, I don't need to do that anymore, I could use git remote and fetch together to pull the branch and commit to my local machine, this is much easier and I can save my time.

Top comments (0)