DEV Community

Seog-Jun Hong
Seog-Jun Hong

Posted on

Experience a Real Open-Source Environment After Releasing the Project

How did you go about finding someone to work with?

After releasing my first Til-Tool converter and I looked for someone reviewing each other's project. Fortunately, Rachit reached out to me and we started chatting about each other's project and we raised the issues on GitHub.

What was it like testing and reviewing someone else's code? Did you run into any problems? Did anything surprise you?

In the beginning, I was embarrassed when I looked at his project because Python was used and I've never learned it before. Also, I was struggling with running Python executables as I didn't have much knowledge of Python. However, I reached out to him and I figured out and I was able to run the project and look into his code.

What was it like having someone test and review your code? Were you surprised by anything?

I can say this is a pretty good way to code and project from the user's view. I'm implementing my software from a developer's view, so I missed lots of stuff I can't see as a user. Thanks to him, I could fix my minor issues and make the project better.

What kind of issues came up in your the testing and review? Discuss a few of them in detail.

It was the first time to write a ReadMe.md file for this project because I created a web app for myself and I thought the ReadMe file was not necessary for me and I was too lazy to write how to use the app. However, through this session, I created the file and there were several mistakes that he found.

Provide links to issues you filed, and discuss what you found

https://github.com/Rachit1313/txtToWeb/issues?q=is%3Aissue+is%3Aclosed

There are 3 minor issues on the ReadMe file, and there were 2 bugs in the code. The first bug in the code is not able to convert from .txt file into .html file after I put some new lines on the text file. The converter didn't ignore the new line and it put unnecessary extra paragraph tags on the html file. The second bug, I can't say this is bug, his converter is working properly, but the generated directory name is not ./til and I raised the issue. The others are minor issues on the ReadMe file.

Provide links to issues that were filed on your repo, and what they were about

https://github.com/seog-jun/til-tool/issues?q=is%3Aissue+is%3Aclosed

He suggested me to fix the formatting on "how to fix" part and he found my readme file was missing information for features. Also, at the first time, he was having a dependency issue and let me know how to fix the issue. When I was working on my project, I've never expected that would happen to me, but it happened, and I learned the new stuff. And I implemented 2 optional features and tried to implement one more feature which is adding h1 tag to the html file, and he found out it wasn't following the instructions. Even though I got lots of issues, I can say this is a good way to improve and definitely there's something to learn.

Were you able to fix all your issues? What was that like?

I was able to fix all the issues he suggested. Most of the issues happened on my Readme file and he gave me lots of feedback through Slack. One issue (https://github.com/seog-jun/til-tool/issues/5) was not implemented and I just postponed it to the next time as I already implemented 2 optional features. And this is not the priority so far. Hopefully, I'll implement h1 tag feature based on his feedback. Other than this issue, everything is fixed.

What did you learn through the process of doing the testing and reviewing?

I hadn't expected I got issues because I was working on the project, and I couldn't see any issues from my end. However, I think this is a real-world and real open-source environment. I stepped into the new world and I'm not working on the project alone. There's more fun compared to working alone, I can figure out what I haven't thought or learn new stuff from other's projects.

Top comments (0)