DEV Community

sfrunza13
sfrunza13

Posted on

Patching and Pretending

This week in Starchart

Here is my weekly run down of developments on my end to do with the Starchart project which is an open source project that has long since been renamed My.Custom.Domain (which I will not be calling it, because we are astronomers here) for students at Seneca College to be able to hone their skills while also delivering a website that can be used to generate certificates for some domains that might not be https for some reason cough load balancers cough.

This past week I worked on an issue to mock users if you are part of the admin group (the chosen few) and that can be found here. It was not the biggest code change but it was so dizzying trying to keep track of what I was dealing with between the session, the root loader and the database especially after I looked away from the project and focused on something else entirely, often written in a different language. This last week rolling into this one has given me a different perspective on focus as a finite resource with how many different directions I seem to be pulled in.

It was also brought to my attention shortly after my code landed that staging was broken and David had already had the problem pretty well figured out so I dropped what I was doing to put in a small PR to change the undefined value that was causing us problems to a null value since null is valid in Java Script Object Notation. The Fix marked Starchart's 1st PR past 500!

Looking forward

Today marks a new beginning and the last week before we get going on Alpha for Starchart, as such we had a stand up where we took a look at every one of the open issues, even the ones we have already assigned and redistributed them more evenly, as well as highlighted the immediate tasks to take care of in this final sprint.

Now that we are just pre-alpha we are also going to start bringing in more collaborators to begin testing our work without instruction to see if what we have created is friendly for new users.

Top comments (0)