DEV Community

Shaunbag
Shaunbag

Posted on

Make it Fail to Understand how it works!

A Lesson I have have learned on my coding journey is to make things fail to "get" how they work...

Ok that seems like a hokey new age concept I guess, but let me explain what I mean.

When I began my journey with lets say... JavaScript, I saw this huge list of methods and thought ok, ww3 schools yeah I get it, ok next thing. But then weeks later coming to use those methods i'd lost some understanding.

So I guess my point is this, a great way to learn a method or a concept is to open up the terminal and start coding.

Use that method over and over, meditate on it, see all the things it "Can't" do and then your understanding of what it "Can" do becomes more solidified.

I think this goes along with many facets of programming and creating with different languages, to optimise your learning the best thing (in my opinion) is to use what you are learning, if you can apply it to a project great, but also just get that terminal open or IDE or whatever and just tinker.

For me this process is hugely beneficial, its simple, basic and obvious but sometimes I think we all say "ok iv read the documentation/manual" or "I've implemented this lesson perfectly" but our recall is poor and the code is not our own.

There are so many ways to implement your code and i believe its important to find what suits your style, so practice, make it fail, rejoice in your errors they will teahc you more than any success ever will.

This is my first post so i hope for some newer coders like me this helps. Everything worth doing is hard. As Frank Zappa advised Steve Vai, there are 2 rules..

1) Dont Give Up

2) Keep Going

Thanks for reading.

newbies #beginners #newtocoding #ideas

Top comments (0)