DEV Community

Shayne Darren
Shayne Darren

Posted on

Writing personal blog posts vs writing posts on community sites?

What are the biggest drawbacks and advantages of writing posts on your own blog vs writing posts on community sites such as dev.to or medium?

And what would you recommend people to do? Write in your own blog and a community site of your choice? Or just stick to community sites?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r

My blog posts are in German and my community posts are in English. Easy to divide. :-) Sometimes I recycle thoughts from my personal blog for my DEV posts. But I am not a "tech blogger", I write about a lot of stuff. I see DEV as my chance to publish technology articles in a community where such articles are the usual case.

I tried Medium for a while, but nobody will find you on Medium.