DEV Community

Cover image for HacktoberFest Story
Potnuru Shivaji
Potnuru Shivaji

Posted on

HacktoberFest Story

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest

Starting of October as a newbie I don't have any knowledge on Opensource , then I got know there is some fest called HacktoberFEST which is purely for open source contribution....

So I just googled and got too know what open source is
Open-source software is a type of computer software in which source code is released under a license in which the copyright holder grants users the rights to use, study, change, and distribute the software to anyone and for any purpose.

hacktoberfest main goal is to contribute more to open source, although I saw so many repositories that doesn't comes under hacktoberfest policies. But I saw few repositories they are open for ideas and issues they were really facing.

The 4 pull requests which I have made

  1. Fixing Their whole Project file(Documentation)
  2. Adding few major sorting algorithms with their explanations
  3. File Upload problem in JavaScript
  4. Helped them to solve some Graph Problems

Although, there is much to learn for me but I am not stopping
by pulling 4 requests.

I am very happy that I am part of a major success stories...

This was my story.

Top comments (0)