DEV Community

Cover image for Working Student/Intern Search in Germany (Reality)
shivansh singhal
shivansh singhal

Posted on

Working Student/Intern Search in Germany (Reality)

Hey Dev Community,

I'm a student from Munich, Germany, and I'd like to talk about a recent experience that really opened my eyes to resilience and the realities of the tech job market today. Due to the difficult economic situation, I unexpectedly lost my job as an IT student with two years of experience working as a student at an IT company.

My employer sent me an email in July letting me know that August would be my last month working there. Although I was shocked by the layoff, I knew I couldn't focus on it. I had to move quickly because the job market has grown more competitive, especially for students. I then started submitting applications for new jobs.

When I say "I started applying," I mean it—I've submitted over 600 applications on Indeed, LinkedIn, and other sites. I swung wide, aiming my net at anything from Y Combinator German startups to small local businesses. It was a tornado of denial and tenacity.

Of those 600 applications, I was selected for fifteen interviews. And those two months of looking for a job were intense, let me tell you. Every interview was a mixture of anxiety and hope, and I gained knowledge from each one that I used to improve my resume, my responses, or just to toughen up.

Additionally, networking was very important to this process. I made connections with industry professionals on LinkedIn, asked for advice wherever I could, and generally reached out to people. Even though not every lead resulted in a job offer, the contacts I made improved my understanding of market trends and how to position myself.

I finally got a new working student job starting in October, after what seemed like an eternity. Although it was relieving, the event also provided a dose of reality. Even in a relatively stable country like Germany, the job market has changed, especially for students. Finding a job is harder than it used to be, and the uncertainty can be debilitating.

This adventure has taught me how important it is to be flexible. My first job wasn't guaranteed to come with the same set of skills as my next. We must never stop developing, picking up new skills, and comprehending what the market requires. Furthermore, networking within the industry is essential because having a strong network can open doors for you at the most unexpected times.

I would like to encourage anyone who is in a similar situation—whether they are looking for work or are just beginning to feel uncertain—to persevere. Although things can be difficult, tenacity and ongoing self-improvement go a long way. And never forget that you are not traveling alone. Communities such as this exist, populated by individuals capable of providing assistance, counsel, and direction.

Remain strong, never stop learning, and never undervalue the influence of networking!

My Linkedin

Top comments (0)