DEV Community

Cover image for  Finding My Process(Month One)
Shon
Shon

Posted on

Finding My Process(Month One)

There is a lot of advice out there, and it can be frustrating as a beginner trying to see what path is right. But my first month coding I found out that you have to cancel out the noise.

The most important thing you can do is EXPERIMENT to find the process that works best for you.

My Process

Free Code Camp
I spent sometime on freecode camp getting a grip of the basics. It helped alot but it felt like I was not covering alot of ground. So I ditched it

Youtube Tutorials
Next it was youtube tutorials. I would copy what ever the youtuber was doing line for line. But i wasn't doing it in a robotic way. After i inserted a piece of CSS i would look at what change it made and take mental notes. This was a huge help.

Hand drawn Mockups

Alt Text

Alt Text

What I learn doesn't register unless i can write it out. After watching several tutorials of youtubers building sites from html and css sites i attempted made an attempt. But it was not registering with me because i was trying to do it out my head from scratch

So i started drawing layouts and hand writting the general html structure of the stuff i would be making before i opened a code editor. It helped alot

Point of this post is there is no right or wrong way to learn. Find out whats works for you and milk it

Top comments (0)