DEV Community

Siddharth
Siddharth

Posted on

Say something from the terminal

Today I learned about the say command in macos. You use it like:

$ say something
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

It may not seem useful, but I use it when I have long scripts to run...

npm run build && say "build done"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

...and It can also be used to do fun things...

say abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz # The impossible is possible
say dskfjkhadsfhjkasjhkfgjdasgfj 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

The most amusing thing about say is that if you ssh into a mac and use it, it'll come out the speakers still. You can mess with people, if you're the kind of person to mess with people.

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth • Edited

I don't quite understand what you mean by "ssh into a Mac", I guess I'll just have to search Google then.

Edit: Ok you mean remotely accessing. That would be cool. 😎.