DEV Community

Cover image for Beyond Hacktoberfest🚀
ShatilKhan
ShatilKhan

Posted on • Updated on

Beyond Hacktoberfest🚀

Ahoy There!
For the past month & a half I've been diving into Open Source.
This year I concluded my first ever Hacktoberfest!
I also learned so much more than expected!
Let's get started!

HACKTOBERFEST LORE

Image description

Hacktoberfest is DigitalOcean’s annual event that encourages people to contribute to open source throughout October. Much of modern tech infrastructure—including some of DigitalOcean’s own products—relies on open-source projects built and maintained by passionate people who often don’t have the staff or budgets to do much more than keep the project alive. Hacktoberfest is all about giving back to those projects, sharpening skills, and celebrating all things open source, especially the people that make open source so special.
This was the 10th Edition of Hactoberfest. And saw the highest number of participating Open Source Contributors!

I successfully got my first 4 PRs merged & was among the first 50k people to complete Hacktoberfest! As my first time it was a big deal!
I also got the Tree Plated badge & got a tree planted in my name in Tanzania😂
Got so many cool badges too!
Made some cool chatbots for ILLA CLOUD using their AI Agent Maker!
Check out my AI agents!
My badge collection:
An image of @shatilkhan's Holopin badges, which is a link to view their full Holopin profile
That's not all, I also got some cool Rewards pack for completing Hacktoberfest!

rewards
The Rewards Kit consists of offers from DigitalOcean, AppWrite, Amplication & many more!

Going Beyond

Little did I know, that completing Hacktoberfest was just the beginning. The real fun started when I kept making contributions. I firmly believed that if I kept doing something consistently the results would surely be far more impactful.

Novu

I came by the Novu Hactoberfest event by accident to be honest. I was a bit sad that there was no T-shirt. Then I stumbled upon Novu's Hacktoberfest event.

novu
Sounds delicious! So I got into making PRs for Novu. I got 4 Accepted PRs for Novu!
Checkout the Issues I worked on
I finished at 10th Place on Novu's official Hactoberfest Leaderboards

Now comes the real Banger!

HackSquad

HackSquad
HackSquad is a Global event that spans around Hacktober. Here you can make your own squad to bring out the most of your Hacktoberfest experience.Usually, teams make PRs that give them points & a place in the leaderboard. I am so greatful to my team mates @nabinbhatt @biplobsd @shelar1423 & @kritik-j
Our Team Vortex secured 8th Position on the Global Leaderboards!
This was my first Global event, it was made so much better by these guys.

Layer5

I have been a member of Layer5 community since September. I have been continually making contributions to the Meshery repo as well as Layer5 repo. As a recognition for my contributions I receievd the Hacktoberfest badge from Layer5!

Image description

Quine

@quine_sh has been an immense help & has played a BIG part in my Open Source Journey! Since I started I focused on improving Myself daily & Finished off Hactober with 54th Position on Quine's Global hacktoberfest Leaderboards (by number of "Hacktoberfest labeled PRs")
I had a total 14 Hacktoberfest labeled PRs merged as well as a 10 other non-participating PRs merged.

Image description

It's so rewarding to see my github stats light up too!
And with the Halloween Vibes🎃

Image description

Check out my Github to see more of my work!

ShatilKhan (Shahriar Shatil) · GitHub

ShatilKhan has 105 repositories available. Follow their code on GitHub.

favicon github.com

All in all Hacktoberfest has been a great experience & I honestly got more than what I could ask for. Here's to more contributions & more Open Source!

Happy Hacking! 🎃

Image description

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
nabinbhatt profile image
Nabin Bhatt

the hacksquad part, It all started from here 😂
Image description

thank you @siren @biplobsd
It was amazing, incredible, just like a wow

Collapse
 
siren profile image
ShatilKhan • Edited

Historic moment
Just like a wow🤣🔥

Collapse
 
fernandezbaptiste profile image
Bap

Hey there! Super cool article man 😄
Congrats for making it to the leaderboard - smashed it 💪

Collapse
 
siren profile image
ShatilKhan

Thank you so much @fernandezbaptiste!
Look forward to contributing more with Quine!

Collapse
 
biplobsd profile image
Biplob Sutradhar

@siren That was my fantastic experience with the team. I didn't expect it without seeing each other, but I got super teammates... 🎉🎉🔥🚀 Congratulations 🎉

Collapse
 
siren profile image
ShatilKhan

Likewise @biplobsd!
A learned a lot from you guys, glad to have you as a team mate🔥

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen 💜

I miss the t-shirts and the stickers. It is just not Hacktoberfest without them to me.

Collapse
 
siren profile image
ShatilKhan

Yeah true
But this year Organizations offered swags individually, which meant even more swags
For example I get the Novu AND the Hacksquad swags, so it's still cool